Hi! My name is Chi. Well, my name was Chief, once upon a time. When I went to live with my new extended family, they shortened it to Chi. There’s a lot of reasons they did this. One, they wanted me to have a fresh start with a name phonetically similar to my old name, but without the bad memories for me. Two, I’m Chinese. You have to give a Chinese dog a Chinese name. It makes sense doesn’t it! Here’s what Chi means, from the great Wikipedia:

•                       Ch’i or qi (氣), “energy force” in Chinese culture

I sure am a great energy force! And I’m a great source of grounding for everyone around me. And I snuggle – a great heat source when it’s cold, and I am known to lower the blood pressure of my humans. I’m pretty cool.

Wikipedia has more good stuff to say.

In traditional Chinese culture (also chi or ch’i) is an active principle forming part of any living thing.[1][2][3] Qi is frequently translated as “life energy”, “life force”, or “energy flow”. Qi is the central underlying principle in traditional Chinese medicine and martial arts. The literal translation of “qi” is “breath”, “air”, or “gas”.

I’m not quite sure what active principle means, except that I do strut around a lot, and I prance. I’m cute too. I have a squiggly tail my family calls a qirky. I can make my mom laugh just by wiggling my qirky.

I breathe, and snort, and fart. See, that’s in the definition too. So, my name is really good for me.

Usually my mom writes this, but today I’m really glad she let me come and explain my name to you. I hope you all enjoyed learning more about me. Maybe she’ll let me talk with you again sometime.

I think it’s time for a nap… My mom tells me to tell you this topic prompt came from The Daily Post.

chinese_character_qi

